Skip to content

Newspoll and asylum seekers

21 October, 2009

Newspoll from The Australian out yesterday. Get the detail at Pollytics.

If you are concerned that too many desperate people in a boat (asylum seekers but you might call them “illegal immigrants”) are seeking a safe haven in Australia, get the lowdown on the push and pull factors. Or keep pulling in time with John Pasquarelli.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gary permalink
    24 October, 2009 8:25 pm

    John Pasquarelli is right.But of course, most people who agree with him are too scared to make a comment should they be labelled a racist.I have seen my beloved Australia lose its culture and identity over the last fifty years, and as for that being for the better, the jury is still out.

    But what I do know is this, our society is slowly spiralling out of control in the areas of law and order, and for the first time in my life time, I have seen a situation where the police force are being intimidated by a load of thugs.It will not even get a reply to the fact, and most unfortunate for the law abiding new Australians among us, most of these are from foreign lands.

    But as with many matters that need the engagement of people with life’s experience, our whole society is being taken in the direction most of us don’t want to go.This is by way of academics and other assorted university types who in the main couldn’t find their own arse holes with both hands.They just keep repeating the mistakes of history hoping for a different result.Madness!

    I am glad in a way I am in my dotage, where we will be in another twenty or thirty years doesn’t bare thinking about.

  2. 26 October, 2009 12:27 pm

    I beg to differ, Gary. I wouldn’t worry too much about crime getting out of control. Most crime rates are steady or even falling but despite this the prison population keeps growing.

  3. Gary permalink
    26 October, 2009 11:21 pm

    Ah ileum, let me see lies, lies, lies, and those damn statistics.Or something to that effect, I forget the exact quote.

    Sorry bud I ain’t buying it.

    However, I am not your average bed wetter, I don’t believe there are to many terrorists among our foreign asylum seeker, but having said that, they are not all economic refugees.

    What I would like to see if possible, is the breakdown of crime statistics by birth place.Does it matter? Not really I suppose but it would help direct the migrant intake that are of a benefit to the country.

    I mean seriously when do we say enough is enough? one million, two million, Australia is about depending on what you read, population wise, on about its limit for the Eco system.Many, ????????

Leave a Reply

